Board logo

Chassis latest
andyps - 13/1/06 at 10:53 PM

I have just started to build the frame for front suspension mounts as I mentioned earlier. It currently looks like this. Any comments before I proceed? The masking tape indicates where there are more tubes to go. Rescued attachment front_susp_mount1.jpg
Rescued attachment front_susp_mount1.jpg

andyps - 13/1/06 at 10:54 PM

Here's another view Rescued attachment front_susp_mount2.jpg
Rescued attachment front_susp_mount2.jpg

mookaloid - 13/1/06 at 11:05 PM

Looks very good to me

However I'm no expert......

Cheers

Mark

Mark Allanson - 13/1/06 at 11:15 PM

What plans are you working from?

Triton - 13/1/06 at 11:23 PM

What is it?

andyps - 13/1/06 at 11:23 PM

The basic chassis is book but 2 inches taller. The wishbones are from an MK Indy, therefore mountings positioned as on an Indy. Front suspension with inboard springs/shocks by rocker arm top wishbone - making it up as I go along!! Sort off, there are a few drawings, but I have done them.

jambojeef - 13/1/06 at 11:53 PM

Looks really interesting and I like the idea of inboard shocks, kinda wished I could have made my ideas work without the crazy compromises it ld have meant.

Have you seen Liam's photo archive?

He's doing something similar but without the full inch square rails above where your top bones are mounted.

Just a different way of doing it I guess

Geoff

MikeRJ - 15/1/06 at 02:25 PM

I quite like that design, saves an awfull lot of messing around with the FU tubes as you have a nice straight bit of chassis rail to weld the brackets to.

Out of interset, if the chassis is 2" taller, how much wider is it?

andyps - 16/1/06 at 10:18 AM

The chassis is 2 inches taller, but standard book width.

Top wishbone brackets should be nice and easy to align on the straight bar - unfortunately, I ran out of time to get them done yesterday.

andyps - 22/1/06 at 10:56 PM