Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: sigh! think my diff is really broke
Moorron

posted on 18/8/09 at 09:01 PM Reply With Quote
sigh! think my diff is really broke

Hi lads ive now took my diff (3.62 7" lsd) out of my indy to have a look at my noisy problem. ive3 took the back plate off and all my play seems to be in the inner gears not the main output bearing. im assuming the spider gears cant be rebuilt? or am i just seeing a common wear pattern in these diffs.

also what makes the diff a LSD? it looks just like a normal diff to me. so can any one suggest a fix to this and is the quiffe (yeh im drunk and cant spell it) part a complete replacement and worth it?

[Edited on 18/8/09 by Moorron]

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

nick205

posted on 18/8/09 at 09:05 PM Reply With Quote
Don't know much about diffs me, but I don't think a quiff is going to be much help to you....

nstrug

posted on 18/8/09 at 09:08 PM Reply With Quote
It doesn't sound like an LSD to me. Can you post a photo?

If it has spider gears, I'm sure it's just an open diff.

If you convert to the Quaife ATB diff, you will just need to keep the crown wheel and pinion, everything else is replaced.

Nick

mark chandler

posted on 18/8/09 at 09:09 PM Reply With Quote
The planet gears are shimmed, the LSD is a pack that sits on the back part of the crown wheel, basically it locks the halfshaft output to the crown wheel
Moorron

posted on 18/8/09 at 09:17 PM Reply With Quote
lol theres a guy at work with that look.

ok, i am going to look for a pic of one so i can see if its the same. i can see the spider gears but the crown wheel is bolted to some large complex item. its an lsd as when jacked up and turning one wheel by hand the other side moves in the same direction. hope this is right

if i do have play in the spider gears can i take it to a transmition place to rework? is it work it?