Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Relays
omega 24 v6

posted on 8/1/06 at 12:13 PM Reply With Quote
Relays

Can some one explain the different applications where you would use the types of relays fitted with diodes and resistors across the coils.
As I undrstand it the diode is to do away with the backword emf voltage which can be quite high and destroy delicate electronics. The resistor variant I'm not so sure about but think it's for screening interference from TV'S Radio's etc.

steve_gus

posted on 8/1/06 at 12:56 PM Reply With Quote
I am an electronics designer, and unless resistors across coils are specific to the car industry for some reason, i dont know of such types (and none were fitted to my donor). I dont know what the purpose of it would be.

Some things on a car might look like a relay, and have a relay in them, but may actually be a controller, such as a wiper speed controller.

The coil itself has a resistance, as would any electrical circuit. Is this the 'resistor'?

The diode, as you say, is used to 'clamp' back EMF from the coil. It can prevent circuit damage (on very delicate electronics) but in most cases is used to prevent a 'spike' that might upset other electrical equipment, such would be the case if the relay is operated by a computer. The spike would otherwise travel back into the computer and may cause it to crash.

If the relay is used in a 'conventional' circuit where the current only flows in one direction, then there will be no downside to using a relay with a diode in it. However, it WILL matter which way around it is connected. If you reverse it, the diode will conduct and act as a short.

You can tell what type yopu have with an ohmmeter. A diode version will give a different reading if you reverse the meter leads, one with no diode will read same both directions.

atb

steve

http://www.locostbuilder.co.uk

Just knock off the 's'!