Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: How to make a loom?
Gav

posted on 27/10/05 at 02:16 PM Reply With Quote
How to make a loom?

Gonna start wiring up my fireblade as soon as ive got my cradle finished, however after looking that the wiring diagrams in the haynes manual it dosnt look to hard(!?) i know i could buy a blade loom and pretty much plug everything in but id like to do it all myself so i know exactly where everything is.
Whats the best solution to do a home made loom? a load of chocy blocks? or is their a better alternative?

gav.

adam_moore

posted on 27/10/05 at 02:19 PM Reply With Quote
I made my own loom for a fireblade using shorty's very useful diagram but you will still need a donar loom for the special plugs for the CDI etc...Otherwise, its not too hard. I've never done it before and managed it (with a large supply of spare fuses!)

My connections arounf the chassis are just clear plastic insulated bullet terminals (inslustion needed to keep the moisture out and keep the SVA man happy.

I tried to get the plugs from breakers but they don't want to waste a whole harness cutting individual plugs from them. You can however get the rectifier plug and the alternator plug from here

http://www.hondaspares.com/newparts/default.asp?mydep=260

[Edited on 27/10/05 by adam_moore]

Hellfire

posted on 27/10/05 at 02:23 PM Reply With Quote
Gav - if you have got the blade loom already then all you need is the time and appropriate wire (but you could prolly get that from work )

It is pretty easy - the hard(est) part is splicing the blade to sierra loom for ignition, hazards and fog.

I've done it (twice) only popping one fuse if you're careful.

Gav

posted on 27/10/05 at 03:33 PM Reply With Quote
No Blade loom, no Sierra loom.

oh boy i do like a challenge

serendipity123

posted on 27/10/05 at 03:48 PM Reply With Quote