Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Linking fusebox feeds
ReMan

posted on 17/7/05 at 11:28 PM Reply With Quote
Linking fusebox feeds

See picture. I did this temporarily whilst I was testing my loom. The loops are to supply each fuse from battery and switched from ignition. On a production car this would be taken care of by linking the fuse unit with solid plates

Now it works OK and i'm just finishing wrapping it , i'd like to make a better job? even though it won't be seen once the scuttle and dash are on.
Any ideas? Rescued attachment fuses.jpg
Rescued attachment fuses.jpg

www.plusnine.co.uk
∙،°. ˘Ô≈ôﺣ

Hellfire

posted on 18/7/05 at 12:35 AM Reply With Quote
Now I'm no electrician... but, I'd say if fuse 6 was drawing it's full capacity as were all the rest then wire 1 would draw 20 amps max. BUT wire 3 and male connectors need's to be capable of handling 30 Amps... I do not think the connectors are designed to handle this much current - they are afterall only a thin bit of metal - it's not the wire that is the weak point it's the connector blades your using. I'd take them back down the wire and join (SOLDER) them from there....

That's my opinion - but like I say, I'm no electrician!

Ham

posted on 18/7/05 at 08:49 AM Reply With Quote
That seems fine as current is measured in series and the loops are connected in parallel therefore, if loop 6 is drawing 10 A it does not mean that loop 1 is seeing the same current. I.e. the max current drawn by each loop will be limited by the fuse, I am pretty sure that the connectors used are rated over 10 A

Cheers

ReMan

posted on 18/7/05 at 09:30 AM Reply With Quote
Here is a VERY BAD diagram of whats going on here.
I "was" fairly confident that the connectors would take the current, but its difficult to find a definative spec which says say 20A max, but you gan get them (the yellow ones)for up to 6mm cable which is about 50 amp I think.