Board logo

R1 5vy 06 No start HELP!
Coopz - 14/3/10 at 01:52 PM

Ok so improvement on last week Had new US loom from malc.

I made the relevant connections.

1. Main switch BlueBlack/BlueYellow
2. Ignition BrownBlue/Red either side of the Lucas On/Off
3. Engine Kill RedBlack/RedWhite
4. Side stand Black/BlueBlack
5. Left Handlebar BlueYellow/BlueBlack
6. Right Handlebar BlueWhite/Black Connection to turn over.

Its in neutral.

I flick the ignition The fuel pump goes everything goes as it should.

I have 12v at The coils

I try and start her she turns over (and carries on till I switch the ignition off)

I took a coil and spark out turned her over touched one of the engine mounting bolts no spark tried an old set of sparks plugs no spark?

Any Idea what it could be?

Cheers Toby

[Edited on 14/3/10 by Coopz]

RichardK - 14/3/10 at 02:01 PM

I'm no expert when it come to becs but I've heard of tilt switches being bolted in the wrong orientation. Would have thought that would have cut fuel though.

Worth a check and good search on here for stuff like that.

Cheers

Rich

bassett - 14/3/10 at 02:35 PM

Hi, Do you have an R1 manual? if the 06 has a diagnostics mode through the original clocks you should be able to test the spark. if they work you know one of the starting requirements isnt completed and if it doesnt then the power to the plugs isnt there. If its the starting requirements like richard said it could be the tip over switch being at the wrong angle.
Adam

corrado vr6 - 14/3/10 at 02:47 PM

Hi mate, sounds like some progress there. With my engine i had no spark either turned out to be a loose connection a red wire in one of the big square Grey connector blocks pushed the wire in so it was seated properly and away she went. Probably a longshot of it happening on yours but thought worth mentioning. I have just re-read your sequence of starting i guess you have flicked the engine kill switch or have you permantly joined them for now??