Board logo

Hangover cure
robertst - 27/9/08 at 02:19 AM

due to the immense amount of free time i have being a student, i have immersed myself into a very ambitious experiment that involves finding the method to prevent next-day hangover...

so far i have found two interesting results:

1- DO NOT MIX liquors... if you start with e.g. beer, then whiskey, then whatever else... you are DEFINITELY getting a hangover..
i have tried drinking only one type of liquor and it has worked fine for me, i.e. if you start with beer, STAY WITH BEER... those tequila shots are not worth it m8...

2. this observation comes inextricably linked to the first result: EAT SOMETHING BEFORE YOU DRINK!!!!!

it sounds stupid but you'd be amazed to find out how regularly you have a meaningless snack thinking you're done and start drinking even before your digestive system can start concentrating on the food and not the drink...

i've been talking to a fellow student that is studying medicine, and he agrees that by ingesting a proper amount of food before drinking, the digestive system gets overwhelmed with breaking down the food contents, therefore partially ignoring having to process the booze...

so, in theory, if you follow these simple guidelines (and obviuously you don't over-do it), you should have but a mild headache when you wake up in the morning

one more thing: following this theory has its disadvantage:

by "fooling" the digestive system, the liquid you ingest seems to pass straight through, and although you do get drunk... there is no escaping the morning hangover diarrhoea!!

... something's gotta give..

David Jenkins - 27/9/08 at 06:49 AM

The old adage "never mix grain & grape" is good advice...

In other words, never drink anything made from grains (beer, whisky, etc.) in the same session as anything made from grapes (wine, brandy, etc).

RK - 27/9/08 at 02:48 PM