Board logo

CKC Subscription
mistergrumpy - 16/9/08 at 07:12 PM

Here's the story and I just wondered if it was me being a whining sod.
I have a subscription to CKC magazine because I think its more 'friendly' than the others. It keeps you up to date with manufacturers and their projects to the point that you could approach them at a show and hold a good conversation. I like the readers builds and development articles and I look forward to receiving my magazine each month.
Here's my gripe. I went to the Stafford show on Saturday and there on the CKC stand was Octobers issue. I have to wait till Friday to receive mine and it didn't make sense to buy one at the show.
I think it was a bit of a swizz. I pay money up front and get my copy a week after its available to non subscribers! Where's the loyalty there?

chris_smith - 16/9/08 at 07:21 PM

i see what your saying but the whole idea of the magazine being at the show is to create more sales and they arent going to succeed by having out of date issues for sale that the majority of people will already have bought and read

mistergrumpy - 16/9/08 at 08:51 PM

Feels like that bank advert. New comers get the big fat juicy worm rate but now that you're in the net you're being taken off that rate.
If they had a show a week after the latest issue had been published then they would have to place an old issue on display.
I think I am being a whining swine but it just bugs me. I had it with a magazine I used used to get, 'Practical Mechanics'. That used to reach the shelves of WHSmith well before I got mine through the door.
My subscription renewal's due around Christmas again so unless it's significantly cheaper then I think I may just buy it as and when it hits the shops.
^Message to CKC that one as I know they read this forum ^

Fozzie - 16/9/08 at 11:19 PM

Oooooo Mr Grumps........you are deffo being a 'grumpy george'......