Board logo

hernia op
jacko - 8/10/09 at 08:34 PM

For them that have had a Hernia op how long dose it take before you got back to work
I am a commercial vehicle body builder / welder
jacko

chrsgrain - 9/10/09 at 07:54 AM

Depends on how its done (open or laparoscopic) whether its unilateral or bilateral, how fit you were before hand and a few other things....

CHris

Mr Whippy - 9/10/09 at 09:00 AM

I'd have thought BenB would be able to answer that or you local GP

David Jenkins - 9/10/09 at 11:24 AM

I suspect that once you've had a hernia it'll be a point of weakness for the rest of your life, regardless of it being surgically mended. You will probably have to modify your lifting & moving habits to avoid a relapse. A lot depends on where it is and how bad it was before the repair.

However, I have a level of medical knowledge that's slightly sub-zero, so many will disagree - don't rely on my opinion!

flak monkey - 9/10/09 at 11:44 AM

Hernia ops - most recommend avoiding heavy lifting etc for 6 weeks.

Though you might be able to return to work sooner.

The wounds are repaied with a special mesh now which the muscle can grow through/around making the repair theoretically stronger than it was before.

Its only day surgery now unless is really major. When I had one done I was in hospital for a week.

Ben_Copeland - 9/10/09 at 12:51 PM

Had 2 ops when I was very young. Never had anything since and I do a lot of lifting. Properly and not so!

I'm sure nowadays you'll be back to work in no time

40inches - 9/10/09 at 01:28 PM