Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Carbon fibre laying
thefreak

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:19 AM Reply With Quote
Carbon fibre laying

Looking for a bit of advice.
I fancy having a play with laying up some sheets of carbon fibre for some interior bits.
What I'm wondering is firstly could I lay this onto a sheet of aluminium? I could use the release agent supplied with the tester kit I picked up from carbonmods but as it's my first attempt I wanted to make sure it wouldn't stick
Also, any other tips to make it as painless or less messy would be apreciated.

tomgregory2000

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:21 AM Reply With Quote
Do it on glass as the finish is much better
tegwin

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:23 AM Reply With Quote
What he says!!!

I use an enormous mirror to lay out flat panels.

Polish it up properly and the results will be fantastic.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would the last person who leaves the country please switch off the lights and close the door!

www.verticalhorizonsmedia.tv

thefreak

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:25 AM Reply With Quote
Was thinking glass or mirror, but finding one big enough is not easy
twybrow

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:27 AM Reply With Quote
Glass will give a fantastic finish, but if the ALu is new (ie you are peeling the proterctive film off), then the results will be pretty good.

All of my interior panels were made on an Alu plate, and my dashboard mould is made fom a piece of kitchen worktop....!

Practice first with nice cheap glass fibre, as mistakes with carbon cost eye watering amounts if you are buying it retail.... Remember, it takes a lot of time, prpe and patience to get a good looking part, even when you have been doing this kind of work for years!

MakeEverything

posted on 14/9/09 at 11:27 AM Reply With Quote
whatare you making?

quote:
Originally posted by thefreak