Board logo

Die grinders
flak monkey - 8/3/06 at 09:32 PM

Right I have a compressor and fancy having a go at some DIY porting on a pinto head (got the Des Hamill book), just for something to do over the easter break when I cant get on with much else (still need a chassis!)

Just a couple of quick Qs though:

Will I need a long nose die grinder? Or will a normal one have enough reach on to get all the way into the ports?

Should I use carbide burrs or grinding stones on a cast iron head, guessing either will be fine?

Cheers,
David

gary gsx - 8/3/06 at 09:42 PM

Ive used a drill in the past and got a flexible drive for it wicked bit of kit

JoelP - 8/3/06 at 09:44 PM

i have no experience of porting a head, however, IMHO the stones are completely worthless. I got a carbide burr from the snap on van when it passed my mates garage. Its like a hot knife through butter. With both compressors on it has a 100% useful duty cycle, with just one it takes some charging (probably 50% cycle). Not too bad though, as the teeth need cleaning out every now and again - i use my scribe.

Machine mart sell a angled grinder for circa £25, so maybe you could splash out and get both?!

flak monkey - 8/3/06 at 09:46 PM

Theres this on ebay, that should be up to the job. Just wondering mainly if its got enough reach to get all the way into the ports? (Not a clue how deep the ports are on a pinto!)

Link helps!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7594550039

David

[Edited on 8/3/06 by flak monkey]

gazza285 - 8/3/06 at 10:06 PM

I do my porting with one of these thingies from Machine Mart.

Use carbide bits for the roughing out and the mounted stones for smoothing (if they last long enough. The most usefully shaped ones are the ones that vapourise before your eyes.), and finally small flap wheels for finishing. If you can be bothered you can polish the exhaust ports as well.

flak monkey - 8/3/06 at 10:25 PM

Ta chaps.