Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: first time and having a go
Gazr81

posted on 23/2/04 at 08:02 PM Reply With Quote
first time and having a go

Hi all, just found this web site to day while try to do so research while I was meant to be working, I am mad about all things cars like most of you seem to be here so I guess I am in the right place, I am in the process off finishing a vtec powered mini and have caught the car building bug big time and want to take a leap in to the deep end and build my own design of car from scratch, I am a computer engineer by trade but cars are my first love, I download rhino’s 3d/cam demo and off ive gone, I am just looking for constructive criticism to what you think of my first attempt at designing my first very own chassis its a mid mount layout design drawn to 1/10 scale to house a Chevy small block mated to a porche g50 box, please feel free to comment. Rescued attachment chassis1.jpg
Rescued attachment chassis1.jpg

Alan B

posted on 23/2/04 at 09:12 PM Reply With Quote
Don't you hate it when you have a great reply written and then it crashes on you.....

Anyway, the gist of it was....

Hi and welcome...

I may have misunderstood you, sorry if I have, but you should never draw or model in anything other than 1:1 scale.....view or print however you need but always model 1:1

Your choice of powerplant would suggest you are an Ultima fan?

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
kb58

posted on 23/2/04 at 09:21 PM Reply With Quote
Looks good, and robust! I'd suggest some foward down-tubes to connect the main roll cage to the front suspension/shock area. As it is, it looks like it has low torsional rigidity.