Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fireblade 1000cc engines
Gav

posted on 19/11/07 at 12:17 PM Reply With Quote
Fireblade 1000cc engines

Right, i have oppertunity to purchase 2 1000c blade engines, i dont know exactly what year yet as ive not seen them yet, going to take a butchers later this week.
My uncle was given them when a friend of his was cleaning out a workshop, he wants £500 for the pair(whoopie!) is their any gotchas with these engine HISS? etc.

What i didnt understand is that my uncle(into his 60's) said they are deffinalty 1000cc engines but with carbs, i think he has mistaken the throttle boddies for carbs,
he also said they are hydrolic clutches, iirc only the later injection ones are hydrolic clutches?.

[Edited on 19/11/07 by Gav]

Guinness

posted on 19/11/07 at 12:25 PM Reply With Quote
I'm no Honda expert, but I think the early CBR1000's have hydraulic clutches and carbs. Check Jambojeef's photo archive for photos of his engine (which is an early CBR1000).

HTH

Mike

Hellfire

posted on 19/11/07 at 12:27 PM Reply With Quote
As above. Sound like CBR1000's to me.

Phil

Gav

posted on 19/11/07 at 12:29 PM Reply With Quote
ah! so they might be CBR1000 engines, he might of been mistaken then as he said they were Fireblade engines, he also said they had oil coolers....?

TimC

posted on 19/11/07 at 12:40 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Gav
ah! so they might be CBR1000 engines, he might of been mistaken then as he said they were Fireblade engines, he also said they had oil coolers....?