Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Hole in airbox
Jubal

posted on 21/4/07 at 06:35 PM Reply With Quote
Hole in airbox

The hole in the airbox as per the pic below ended my day early at Elvington today. Under load it now won't pull more than 6k revs. Sat in the paddock it revs just fine.

What do you reckon has happened? And should I just replace it with a sausage filter?

Sorry if this is a numpty question but I'm no mechanic and am learning as I go. Rescued attachment smallairbox.JPG
Rescued attachment smallairbox.JPG

JoelP

posted on 21/4/07 at 06:41 PM Reply With Quote
maybe vibration, check that nowt has fallen into the carb! And i would use a sausage filter myself, maybe hooded if it doesnt sit nice out of the bonnet (ie air ducted to it)
David Jenkins

posted on 21/4/07 at 06:43 PM Reply With Quote
Didn't notice any backfires, did you?

PAUL FISHER

posted on 21/4/07 at 07:00 PM Reply With Quote
Hope you have not done any damage to the engine,bent any valves,those big bits of plastic pipe must have gone somewhere,it does not sound good that it won't rev over 6000rpm on track,I think it should not make that much difference to it reving out with the hole in the airbox,have you tried to driving it since with the airbox completely removed? to ensure there is no engine damage.
Jubal

posted on 21/4/07 at 07:13 PM Reply With Quote
Nope, no backfires. The piece that blew off lodged itself in the carb, it was one piece, nice clean break.

Cheers for the pointers. I'll get a sausage filter and chop a hole in the bonnet

Jubal

posted on 21/4/07 at 07:19 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by PAUL FISHER