Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: rear caliper position
DaveFJ

posted on 4/4/07 at 08:30 PM Reply With Quote
rear caliper position

OK.

I thought I had this right but i have been looking at some other peoples photo archives. My calipers are at the front of the rear upright at about 2 o'clock. looking at others they seem to be at the rear?? so - am i wrong ?

I have standard sierra discs and calipers.

Dave

"In Support of Help the Heroes" - Always

bigrich

posted on 4/4/07 at 08:54 PM Reply With Quote
i have no knowledge of the Avon but most of the kits i've seen mount the calipers upside down on the rear of the disc
it looks to me as though the rear uprights could be on the wrong sides, but as i said i don,t know the avon model at all.
should be some pics in my archive of the rear brakes on my last build.

Regards Rich

RazMan

posted on 4/4/07 at 09:10 PM Reply With Quote
Most fit them on the front of the upright and upside down, which means you have to remove them for bleeding but it is much better for the handbrake cable routing. Rescued attachment Rear Hub.jpg
Rescued attachment Rear Hub.jpg

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
andrew.carwithen

posted on 4/4/07 at 09:51 PM Reply With Quote
I swapped my uprights from one side to the other so that calipers are at rear and correct orientation.

Andy.

DaveFJ

posted on 5/4/07 at 07:53 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by andrew.carwithen
I swapped my uprights from one side to the other so that calipers are at rear and correct orientation.

Andy.

but - having swapped your uprights how is the wheel position in regards to the rear arch? I assumed this would mess it all up....

Dave

DaveFJ

posted on 5/4/07 at 09:32 AM Reply With Quote