Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: steering arm angle
joolsmi16

posted on 24/6/07 at 06:54 PM Reply With Quote
steering arm angle

Hi all, having reposition my steering rack so that it now sits behind the centre line of the front wheels. My steering arms are now at a different angle is this okay.

Thanks Rescued attachment HPIM1443_Small.JPG
Rescued attachment HPIM1443_Small.JPG

t.j.

posted on 24/6/07 at 07:01 PM Reply With Quote
The Q is not where but how the steering-rack is placed.

It's important to know if you placed it at the right spot.

You don't want any bump-steer.
So 3D-drawing is the best.

If not try to make a picture in front of the car so we can judge.

Why did you replace the steering-rack?
Mine is in front, no bump-steer. steeringarms almost parrallel to the bottom. In fact a few mm lower.

Grtz

Please feel free to correct my bad English, i'm still learning. Your Dutch is awfull! :-)

joolsmi16

posted on 24/6/07 at 07:09 PM Reply With Quote
steering arms

I reposition the rack to reduce bump steer to have the rack pivoting at the same angles as the wishbones.

Having read a little more about ackermans the angle steering arms are the norm just surprised at the amount of angle.

Quote "The steering arms are angled inwards to create a means for the wheel angles to change at a different rate. This is the basis of the Ackerman Steering Principle and creates this unequal angular movement of the wheels".

mark chandler

posted on 24/6/07 at 07:10 PM Reply With Quote
You have increased your ackerman angle by doing this, ie the turn in rate on the left wheel is different from the right.

From you picture it looks like the rack is very low, if you draw a virtual line between the pivot points on the suspension backets when the wheels are straight ahead the the ball joint in the rack should be in the same plane.