Board logo

MotaLeira progress
nitram38 - 23/9/08 at 11:07 AM

Been a while since I did anything as I have been working 7 days a week for a couple of months and then been to Florida for 3 weeks.
I have been back a week so now I am determined to get the car finished as soon as I can.
I am fabricating a thin aluminium floor tub and here is the progress so far. It will need sides welded on plus a small tunnel to support the centre of the floor.
Once fitted I will be able to finish all of the painting on the chassis (where I missed) and start bolting things back on.
The titanium skids have been mounted because I have air adjustable suspension and the car will either sit on the blocks or protect the chassis if I get an air leak !

Basic floor pan with no sides (needs trimming):

Description
Description

Rear view with folded rear tub:

Description
Description

Front skid pads:

Description
Description

Rear skid pads (look a bit p*ssed as not tightened up):

Description
Description

Mr Whippy - 23/9/08 at 11:19 AM

quote:
Originally posted by nitram38
The titanium skids have been mounted because I have air adjustable suspension and the car will either sit on the blocks or protect the chassis if I get an air leak !

oh what a fibber! there for throwing up heaps of sparks when you touch the road just like on motorbikes and F1 cars!

bet you set the ride height so it just 'accidentally' grazes the road when pushing it...

[Edited on 23/9/08 by Mr Whippy]

Alan B - 23/9/08 at 11:19 AM

Looking good mate...

Mave - 23/9/08 at 08:00 PM

As usual, very nice. But please, please reconsider having the chassis shotblasted and powdercoated...... The first impression suffers so much from the current coating.
All IMHO of course......

nitram38 - 23/9/08 at 08:22 PM

Sorry, made up my mind about the chassis coating.
I want to drive (give it a dam good thrashing, more like!) without worrying about stone chips etc, so I can just slap some more paint on if it happens.